Photo Credit: Associated Press

In yet another startling break from procedure and tradition, President-elect Donald Trump said on Sunday that he isn’t receiving the daily intelligence briefings traditionally given to the incoming president.

The comments, which came on the Fox News show “Fox and Friends”, were a confirmation of what has been suspected for a long time.

“You know, I’m, like, a smart person. I don’t have to be told the same thing in the same words every single day for the next eight years. Could be eight years — but eight years. I don’t need that,” Trump said. “But I do say, ‘If something should change, let us know.'”

Ever since the campaign, Trump has been skeptical of the U.S. Intelligence community, to the point where he has been publically doubting the findings that Russia actively influenced the elections with the direct goal of a Trump victory.

He did go on to say that Vice-President-elect Mike Pence is receiving the daily briefings, as well as the two retired generals that he has named to his cabinet so far.

“I mean, there will be some very fluid situations. I’ll be there not every day, but more than that. But I don’t need to be told, Chris, the same thing every day, every morning, same words, ‘Sir, nothing has changed. Let’s go over it again.’ I don’t need that.”

 

 

